International Collaborators

In the Chinese Mainland:

The staff of the Unit has shared experience in research, clinical service and education in Emergency Care with the following hospitals in Mainland China:


Peking Union Medical College



The Second Affiliated  Hospital of Guangzhou Medical University



Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine


International Institutions:


University of Alberta, Canada

Professor Phil Jacobs is a health economist based at the University of Alberta. Professor Jacobs has been invited to CUHK on many occasions and has collaborated with the unit in cost effectiveness analyses.
Cardiff University

University of Cardiff, United Kingdom

Professor Timothy Rainer is a professor in Emergency Medicine at the University of Cardiff and a previous director of this unit. Professor Rainer continues to collaborate with this unit.

RCEM-logoThe Royal College of Emergency Medicine (UK)

The AEMAU was responsible for introducing of the UK Fellowship (and subsequent Membership) of the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh (Accident and Emergency Medicine) examinations [FRCSEd(A&E)/MRCSEd(A&E)] to Hong Kong in 1997. The FRCSEd(A&E)/MRCSEd(A&E) is held conjointly with the Intermediate Examination in Emergency Medicine of the Hong Kong College of Emergency Medicine.

In 2009, the unit hosted the first diet of the Membership examination of the College of Emergency Medicine of the UK, the MCEM exam, which will replace the MRCSEd(A&E) for the next three years in Hong Kong alongside the HKCEM Intermediate Examination.


European Journal of Emergency Medicine and European Society for Emergency Medicine

Professor Colin Graham is the Editor-in-Chief of the European Journal of Emergency Medicine and sits on the Council and Executive Committee of the European Society for Emergency Medicine.

Maastricht University, Netherlands

The AEMAU is collaborating with Professor R Renneberg, a clinical chemist in HKUST, to develop new biochemical markers for use at point of care evaluation in the emergency department and other critical care settings. The AEMAU has been pleased to invite Professor Jan Glatz, a Clinical Biochemist and Heart Foundation Professor at Maastricht University to the Unit to speak on the development of H- and B-FABP as early markers in critical illness.

University of Manchester

The AEMAU and TARN at the University of Manchester is working on a collaborative project to compare the process and performance of trauma system between Trauma Audit & Research Network (TARN) UK and Hong Kong

Monash University, Melbourne

The Unit has an active collaboration with Professor Peter Cameron’s Prehospital, Emergency and Trauma Group within the Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine at Monash University on various clinical and registry based trauma topics.

King’s College, London

The Unit has collaborated with Professor ACC Coolen and his Mathematics Group at Kings’s College on the topic of admission rates to Hong Kong emergency departments, to develop benchmarking tools for ED admissions using novel mathematical modeling techniques.
images (1)

University of Southern Denmark, Odense

Professor Mikkel Brabrand is a clinical associate professor in Emergency Medicine. Professor Brabrand has been invited to CUHK on many occasions and has collaborated with the unit and made contribution towards many clinical research topics.

World Health Organisation

AEMAU is currently in the process of translating the low intensity transdiagnostic tool Problem Management Plus in traditional Chinese, and exploring its use in Hong Kong.


Other International Institutions:


University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom


Harvard University, USA


International Federation for Emergency Medicine (IFEM)


Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden


Khon Kaen University, Thailand


Mahidol University (Bangkok), Thailand


University of Maryland School of Medicine


Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

images (1)

University of Queensland, Australia

images (2)

Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh, United Kingdom


University of Sheffield


University Medical Centre, Utrecht, the Netherlands


Wonju College of Medicine, Yonsei University, South Korea